Dear CEO, We are the department of Asian Domain registration service

A client - let's call them Frobozz Electric - dropped me a line to ask what to do about this email that had just arrived:

From: Anna.Yang [] Sent: Thursday, 30 September 2010 1:40 PM Subject: Confirmation of Internet Registration

(This is very urgent, Please forward this to your CEO.)

Dear CEO, We are the department of Asian Domain registration service, and we have something about the domain names to confirm with you. We formally received an application on Sep 30, 2010, one company which self-styled "Verition Engineering Co.Ltd" were applying to register"FrobozzElectric" as Network Brand and following domain names: (big list of FrobozzElectric-dot-something domain names)

After our futher checking, we found the brand names were similar to your company's. Please confirm that whether your company has authorized that company to register these domain names.Please reply us within 7 workdays. If you didn't reply us within the specified time,we will finish the registration for "Verition Engineering Co.Ltd", we are looking forward to your reply,so that we can handle this issue better.

Best Regards,


It is of course a scam, and it goes like this:

THEM: "hi there, we are super duper tech company and we've noticed that someone is doing enquiries involving your trademark!"

YOU: "oh really?"

THEM: "yes, but it's OK we'd be happy to secure your trademarks and website addresses for you to make sure that no-one else gets them, just send us your credit card number and we'll do it right away!"

YOU: "um...ok..."

THEM: ka-ching! There's one born every minute!

If you get something like this, just delete it or flag it as junk mail, and don't give it a second thought.